

« 4 per 1000 Initiative: Soils for Food Security and Climate »



Document Consortium 4-5

4th Meeting of the Consortium

Thursday December 13th, 2018 16:30 to 18:30 University of Silesia – Katowice - Poland

Proposal to extend the mandate of current CST members by one year

The declaration of intent to create a "4 per 1000" Initiative Consortium that establishes the governance of the Initiative contains the following articles that refer to the Scientific and Technical Committee.

These articles are:

Scientific and Technical Committee (hereinafter referred to the "STC")

- 37. The STC shall provide scientific and technical support to Consortium members.
- 38. Specifically, the STC shall be able to:
 - propose to Consortium members, on the basis of the orientations defined by the Consortium, a set of reference criteria for the evaluation of projects and actions founded on the principles and goals of the Initiative as defined in the Paris Declaration, as well as on the Sustainable Development Goals;
 - formulate opinions and advice on projects, actions and programs at the request of the Secretariat;
 - formulate proposals for the orientations of the international scientific research and cooperation program and for any horizontal issue submitted by the Secretariat;
 - make contributions to the resource center in conjunction with the Secretariat and, when asked to do so by the Secretariat, validate the posting of documents on line.
- 39. The Committee shall comprise no more than 14 scientists, all to be internationally acclaimed for their scientific or technical competence on topics relevant to the 4 per 1000 Initiative. STC members shall notably be competent in the following disciplines: soil sciences, the carbon and organic matter cycle, agronomics, livestock farming, forestry, economics, political sciences and sociology, with the following areas of application: adaptation to climate change, food security and sustainable development in its various economic, social and environmental aspects. The composition of the STC shall assign a significant role to expertise in the field. It shall be balanced between the world's various regions and shall ensure male female parity. STC members shall be appointed for a two-year term renewable no more than twice by decision of the Consortium in response to a proposal from the Secretariat, following consultation of the college of research and educational bodies.
- 40. The STC shall carry out its assigned tasks by means of physical and virtual meetings with support from the Secretariat. The members of the STC may appoint from among their number an STC chair and deputy chair. The STC chair and deputy chair may take part in Consortium and Forum meetings.
- 41. Statements of interests shall be made by the members of the Consortium and filed with the Secretariat. They shall be updated at least once yearly.
- 42. The STC may consult as and when necessary any expert or actor it considers relevant to its proceedings.

Consortium, Forum and STC bylaws

43. Bylaws may lay down the rules for the operation of the Consortium, the Forum and the STC. They shall be adopted by the members of the Consortium in response to a proposal from the Secretariat, after consultation of the relevant body.

At its first meeting in Marrakech on November 17th 2016, the Consortium proceeded to the nomination of the 14 members of the STC on the proposal of the Executive Secretariat following a selection process led by a Committee of international experts specially constituted for this effect, on the basis of an open call for applications.

The following experts were nominated intuitu personnae for a 2-year term.

- Dr. AMIRASLANI Farshad Socio-eco natural resource management (Iran)
- Professor CHENU Claire Soil scientist soil organic matter (France)
- Dr. GARCIA CARDENAS Magali Agroclimatology (Bolivia)
- Dr. **KAONGA Martin** Agroforestry carbon biogeochemistry (Zambia)
- Dr. **KOUTIKA Lydie-Stella** Soil scientist soil organic matter (Rep of Congo)
- Dr. LADHA Jagdish Soil fertility and plant nutrition (India)
- Dr. MADARI Beata Soil scientist C and N cycling (Brazil)
- Dr. **RUMPEL Cornelia** Forester terrestrial organic matter (Germany)
- Dr. SHIRATO Yasuhito Agricultural and soil scientist (Japan)
- Professor **SMITH Pete** Soils and global change (United Kingdom)
- Professor **SOUDI Brahim** Agronomist soil science (Morocco)
- Dr. **SOUSSANA Jean-François** Plant physiologist (France)
- Dr. WHITEHEAD David Crop physiologist forestry (New Zealand)
- Dr. **WOLLENBERG Lini** Natural resource management (USA)

During this first two-year term, the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee met 6 times (Marrakech November 2016, Rome March 2017, Montpellier June 2017, Bonn November 2017, Madrid June 2018, and Katowice December 2018).

The Scientific and Technical Committee was dynamic and produced the deliverables that were expected of it. The atmosphere is relaxed but extremely serious, not only during "physical" meetings, but also during "virtual" meetings in videoconference.

The team thus formed is now fully operational, and with the exception of one case, it is ready to continue its work for an additional year.

The "Terms of Reference" of the STC elaborated by the STC and validated by the Consortium states that:

The nomination of new members is performed by the Consortium on proposal made by the *Executive Secretariat and led by the Executive Secretariat*.

The members of the STC are appointed for 2 years as standard. Members can be re-appointed for a two years mandate with a maximum of 3 mandates by decision of the members of the Consortium.

If a member of the STC should leave before completion of their term, the Executive Secretariat will set up a new nomination.

Membership renewal

The renewal of the STC membership will be performed every two years by third of the STC. On a period of 6 years, the renewal of the STC will be complete.

As a result, at the end of the first mandate, it would be advisable to proceed with the change of a third of the members of the CST, ie 4 or 5 members. During a "cruise" period, this type of partial renewal is not likely to disrupt the work of the committee, which is not necessarily the case at the end of this first mandate, which is decisive in forging the spirit of the STC.

After discussion of this issue within the STC, the STC requested the Executive Secretariat to propose to the Consortium to:

- Validate the exceptional extension of the first term of the current members of the Scientific and Technical Committee for a period of one year, to bring it to 3 years;
- To replace Professor Pete SMITH who wished to retire after the end of his two-year term.

The decision that is submitted to the Consortium is therefore:

- extend by one-year the mandate of the current STC members.
- replace Professor Pete SMITH with Dr. Beverley HENRYⁱ, an Australian national whose CV is issued from the July 2016 call for applications, and who was selected by the Chair and Vice-Chairs of the STC.

ⁱ It should be noted that Dr. Beverley HENRY has been contacted by ChairPerson Cornelia RUMPEL and has given her formal agreement to participate in the work of the STC in the event of her nomination by the Consortium.